My Cornwall Wedding: The Church Ceremony, and Champagne & Oysters amongst Bluebells

I’ve been away from this blog far too long, and I’ve missed it. I’ve missed chatting to all the wonderful bloggers that I follow and who are sweet enough to follow me as well, and I’ve missed sharing all the things I get up to. They’re always the more fun for being able to share them with you!

Inevitably, I have to start with my wedding. I suppose this post will take the form of all the other wedding blogs you’ll come across, but I’ll try to keep it as short and sweet as I can.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0588 (800x533)

The first thing I have to say is that organising it was the biggest bloody nightmare in the world, and Tom and I worked ourselves half to death in the few months before it. It was worth it, yes, but only just! My 130 hour working weeks genuinely nearly killed me, and the day before the wedding I was bordering on hysteria more times than I can count. Thankfully my Thomas is the kindest and most wonderful man in the world, and our friends and family are both incredibly giving of their time and an absolute blast to be around. Between them, they just about kept me sane.

Errands frantically completed the day before the wedding included buying 400 second-hand books, tearing along tiny country lanes to try and find the only shop in Cornwall that stocks speciality liqueurs (I’ll explain later), and driving for over an hour to Penzance to collect Tom’s wedding ring, then driving all the way back as fast as possible so we could actually attend our own wedding rehearsal. We arrived back at Scorrier House around midnight, and I got my laptop out to send about a hundred emails, and write a 2000 word assessment report I had to send to a client.

Anyway. Deep breaths. I woke early, and peered out at the mist rolling across Scorrier’s beautiful grounds. Scorrier is a privately owned manor house set within a 400 acre estate, and the lovely Richard and Caroline hire it out for weddings. It’s not the prettiest building from the outside, but the interior is beautiful, with a sweeping staircase at the centre of the ballroom. My bridesmaids soon arrived, and Tom disappeared to get ready with his brothers at a cottage next door.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0013 (800x533)We spent most of the morning sitting around drinking champagne that my maid of honour Katy had purloined from somewhere, but it was nice to stop rushing around for the first time in six months. I did my own makeup, but local stylist Megan Piekarz put my hair into a vintage-inspired up-do, and also added just a bit of polish to my bridesmaids. I was particularly keen that they all looked very natural, and she did a wonderful job.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0052 (800x533)

The bridesmaid dresses were from Coast (no longer in stock I’m afraid), and I was incredibly lucky to find them. It was the first dress we looked at in person, and the perfect shade of green (there are many imperfect shades of green, but this one was perfect). I also wanted them all to wear strings of freshwater pearls, so ordered these online from Etsy. They hardly cost anything at all, but they were exactly the look I was after.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0055 (800x533)

Katy helping

Tom & Jade FINAL 0065 (800x533)

I wore my mum’s wedding dress, which she’d transported backwards and forwards across the world for me since she married my father in Papua New Guinea. It was handmade for her in Australia, and I remember admiring the delicate Brussels lace it’s made from when we lived on Nauru, more than twenty years ago now. “You can wear it when you get married” she had said, and it really means a lot to me that, finally, I actually did get to wear it!

I had a few alterations made, by the absolutely wonderful Lindsay Rodham. Trekking backwards and forwards to Walthamstow for fittings was definitely worth it, as she made everything I wanted possible, when countless other seamstresses had said it couldn’t be done. She added lace to the length so I could wear heels, removed the collar, and added a sash to the waist so I actually felt like I had one, and made it feel completely ‘right’ for me where it hadn’t before.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0068 (800x533)My shoes were from Hobbs, and literally the only style I could find in the world in the right colour, heel height and width (no stilettos allowed on Scorrier’s antique wooden floors). Here’s a picture of me grimacing at them as Katya helps me into them. They looked better on, to be fair, but as my dress was floor-length I wasn’t that worried anyway. I found that you absolutely have to prioritise with a wedding. Decide on what is most important to you, and focus on that; you cannot give your full attention to every tiny little detail.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0135 (800x533)

Here’s Tom ‘getting ready’ (doing a Tai Chi Chuan workout)

Tom & Jade FINAL 0173 (800x533)

More ‘getting ready’ with his brothers Jim and Luke, who were joint best man.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0106 (800x533)

My beautiful bridesmaids, from left to right: Stella, Katy, Hannah and Katya. I’m very, very lucky to have all of them in my life.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0109 (800x533)The flowers were done by Georgia Westwood. I liked her style, but also that she is a set designer as well as florist; the theatrical side to her work really appealed. We were going for a slightly fantastical ‘Spring Woodland with Antique Books’ theme, to combine our love of books and the countryside, and I was confident that she’d be able to turn my rambling and often contradictory ideas into reality. She did an incredible job, both on the bouquets and the ballroom decorations, but you can see that from the photos!

Tom & Jade FINAL 0156 (800x533)Tom, Luke and Jim walking down to St Mylor Parish Church

I’m not particularly religious, but I’ve wanted to get married in St Mylor Parish Church as long as I can remember. As I grew up overseas, my parents brought me to Cornwall as often as they could so my grandparents would see me growing up. Walking along the creek or through the fields and woodlands nearby had a huge impact on me, and we’d always look in on the church and harbour behind it. It’s full of childhood memories for me as well as being mere metres from the sea, and is a very old and beautiful church. I was delighted that Tom was happy to get married in it as well, and even more delighted to find out we were allowed to as I’d been baptised there.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0158 (800x533)

Putting on fern and bluebell buttonholes

Tom & Jade FINAL 0233 (800x533)

It actually rained all morning, to my slight dismay. Mist turned to a gentle but persistent drizzle, and emergency umbrellas were found. Just as we arrived at the church, however, the sun burst through the storm clouds! We didn’t sort out transport to and from the church until the day before the wedding, but luckily Tom found a vintage Rolls Royce for us at the last minute.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0241 (800x533)

Tom & Jade FINAL 0250 (800x533)

I was surprisingly nervous on the way to the church, desperately hoping I hadn’t forgotten anything, but seeing our friends and family gathered together in the church was one of my favourite moments of the whole day.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0260 (800x533)

Tom & Jade FINAL 0274 (800x533)

Tom & Jade FINAL 0304 (800x533)

Tom & Jade FINAL 0348 (800x533)

Husband and wife, finally!

Tom & Jade FINAL 0358 (800x533)

Some of my Australian relatives who travelled a very long way to share the day with us, for which I will always be grateful.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0376 (800x533)

Tom & Jade FINAL 0473 (800x533)

After the ceremony we drove back to Scorrier House, and made time for oysters and champagne before the formal family photos. We copied friends of ours who had chosen to have canapes in lieu of a starter course at their wedding, and this worked perfectly as well as balancing out the cost of all that champagne! Our caterers Beetham Food put on a range of canapes as well as the oysters we requested. Crab Cakes & Tempura Prawns with Sweet Chilli Dip, Smoked Salmon Bilinis with Dill Crème Fraiche, Yorkshire Puddings with Rare Beef & Horseradish Cream, and a variety of croutes kept everybody happy. Never skimp on food or alcohol at a wedding. You want your guests to enjoy themselves (plenty of alcohol) but not get drunk (plenty of food).

Tom & Jade FINAL 0434 (800x533)

It was quite chilly outside, so our photographer Debs Ivelja did a great job of hurrying through these! I chose Debs as her portfolio was not just the usual reportage shots, but focused instead on capturing the drama in intimate moments. Exactly what I think a wedding should be. She and her assistant Sarah took nearly 1000 photos for us, and Debs has been wonderful to deal with throughout the whole process.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0506 (800x533)

Chilly bridesmaids

Tom & Jade FINAL 0533 (800x533)

Tom and I with my grandparents and my parents

Tom & Jade FINAL 0517 (800x533)

Tom and I with his slightly more extensive nuclear family!

Tom & Jade FINAL 0570 (533x800)

Tom & Jade FINAL 0588 (800x533)

I was desperate for the bluebells to flower in time, as they’re my favourite spring flower. Again we were lucky, and they were absolutely everywhere.

Tom & Jade FINAL 0654 (800x533)

The grounds of Scorrier were perfect for capturing the feel of our wedding. We were surrounded by greenery and spring blossoms, and it was clear to all our guests why we’d chosen to get married in Cornwall. Even if they did all have to travel very far to join us!

It was such a wonderful day that I thought it best to split it into two separate posts. Photos and details of the wedding breakfast, cocktail hour and swing dancing in my next post.

24 thoughts on “My Cornwall Wedding: The Church Ceremony, and Champagne & Oysters amongst Bluebells

  1. Glad to see you back, we missed your interesting posts. But I’m sure everyone knew you had been super busy. Lovely to see the photos. I love the vintage dress! It must have been so nice to wear something passed on through the family.

    • Thanks, it really was amazing to wear Mum’s dress. It travelled with us across the globe so many times, that it was wonderful to finally show it off again after all the years in storage. Lovely to have relatives at our wedding who had been there when Mum wore it in PNG as well! Jx

  2. Oh wow, what a stunning wedding and what a beautiful bride you make. That dress is beyond belief, just so delicate and so many stories woven into the fabric – how wonderful for your mother to see you wear the dress on your own wedding day. The whole setting looks amazing and it sounds like a really special and personalised day. I’m so happy for you both, congratulations! Looking forward to the next post xxx

    • Thank you! That was where most of the work went actually, on making it as personal to us as possible. There were a lot of little details that I think only we knew the real meaning behind, but that was how we wanted it. Jx

  3. Lovely to see your wedding in Mylor & Scorrier, Cornwall is such a romantic place to be married. We were married in Constantine church many many years ago but unfortunately we did not have such a fabulous photographer as Debs – she did an amazing job for you both. Wishing you many years of happiness together :-)x Stunning dress !

    • Thank you, we were indeed very lucky to find Debs, as she captured the day perfectly. It’s the memories that count most though! I’m sure you have many wonderful memories of your own big day. Jx

  4. Well, young Jade, I was beginning to give up hope of ever seeing these pictures. But they are wonderful and well worth the wait. You looked gorgeous and the dress is absolutely beautiful. Wishing you both many happy years together …

  5. Pingback: My Cornwall Wedding: The Wedding Breakfast, Cocktail Hour and Swing Dancing | Cocktails and Country Tales

  6. Pingback: Honeymoon Week in Florence | Cocktails and Country Tales

  7. Pingback: Honeymoon Week in Venice | Cocktails and Country Tales

  8. Pingback: Exploring Hong Kong | Cocktails and Country Tales

Leave a Reply

